Выбрать язык Выбрать язык
Find your current status of access rights in the Green-Zones App: entry allowed (green), driving ban (red) or early warning (orange).
Find the current status of access rights to your desired environmental zone in the Green-Zones App: entry allowed (green), driving ban (red) or early warning for a driving ban (orange).

The Environmental Zone in Styria

The environmental zone of Styria has been introduced on 29.10.2014 through the 117th regulation.
It is one of the first environmental zones introduced in Austria. The environmental zone came into force on 01.06.2012 and was first mandatory for Lorries (N2 and N3) responding to the standards EURO 1 and 2.

If a driving ban is violated, an environmental badge is not on the windscreen or a vehicle drives too fast on a motorway marked "IG-L", fines of up to 2,000 euros apply in accordance with § 30 (4) of IG-L, Immissionsschutzgesetz - Luft of 27.11.2015. If a manipulation of the badge is detected, these fines can even be much higher.

Styria is one of 9 federal states in Austria. Approximately 1,3 million inhabitants live here on an area of almost 16,400 km². The capital of Styria is Graz.
Even though, Styria is popularly known as the "Green Mark" or the "Green Heart of Austria", limit values for air pollution are regularly exceeded. For this reason, a large environmental zone has been introduced.

The environmental zone concerns the two big cities of Graz and Leoben and plenty of districts and municipalities.
You will find more information about the environmental zone in Styria on the website of the federal state of Styria where you will also find a list of all the municipalities of the 8 districts concerned by the measure. You will also find a map of the environmental zone.

Table overview of the environmental zone

Name of the environmental zone:
Umweltzone Steiermark - Österreich
Date of entry into effect of the zone:
Type of environmental zone:
Ständig gültig, 00:00-24:00 Uhr
90 - 2.180 €
Area/extension of the environmental zone:
Bezirke Graz Stadt, Graz-Umgebung, Südoststeiermark, Deutschlandsberg, Hartberg-Fürstenfeld, Leibnitz, Voitsberg, Weiz.