Выбрать язык Выбрать язык Umweltzonen in Österreich Niederösterreich
Find your current status of access rights in the Green-Zones App: entry allowed (green), driving ban (red) or early warning (orange).
Find the current status of access rights to your desired environmental zone in the Green-Zones App: entry allowed (green), driving ban (red) or early warning for a driving ban (orange).

The Environmental Zone in Lower Austria

The environmental zone of Lower Austria (surrounding area of Vienna) has been introduced in 20.12.2013 through the 2nd amendment of the fine particulates regulation 8103/1-2. Thereby is it one of the first environmental zones introduced in Austria. The environmental zone came in force on 01.07.2014, first for Lorries and trucks (N1, N2, and N3) responding to the standards EURO 0 and 1. From the 01.01.2016 is the entry in the environmental zone also for EURO 2 vehicles forbidden.

If a driving ban is violated, an environmental badge is not on the windscreen or a vehicle drives too fast on a motorway marked "IG-L", fines of up to 2,000 euros apply in accordance with § 30 (4) of IG-L, Immissionsschutzgesetz - Luft of 27.11.2015. If a manipulation of the badge is detected, these fines can even be much higher.

Lower Austria is the largest federal state of Austria with an area of approximately 19,186 km². There are about 1,7 million inhabitants. The federal state of Lower Austria encloses Vienna, which is the capital of the country and a city state. The capital of Lower Austria is St. Pölten, which counts around 54,000 inhabitants on an area of 108.44 km².

In Lower Austria, especially in the surrounding countryside of Vienna, but also in other regions, the limit values for nitrogen oxides, particulate matter and ozone are repeatedly exceeded. This is why a complex, multi-part environmental zone has been introduced. The limits of the zone can be checked on the attached map.

You will find more information about the environmental zone in Lower Austria and contacts for information about the circulation interdictions on the website of the federal state of Lower Austria.
You will find here a list of all the streets and towns concerned by circulation interdictions.

Table overview of the environmental zone

Name of the environmental zone:
Umweltzone Niederösterreich - Österreich
Date of entry into effect of the zone:
Type of environmental zone:
Ständig gültig, 00:00-24:00 Uhr
90 - 2.180 €
Area/extension of the environmental zone:
Bezirke Bruck an der Leitha, Gänserndorf, Korneuburg, Mödling, Wien-Umgebung.

Städte und Gemeinden in der Umweltzone Niederösterreich

Bruck an der Leitha:
Bad Deutsch-Altenburg, Bruck an der Leitha, Enzersdorf an der Fischa, Göttlesbrunn-Arbesthal, Götzendorf an der Leitha, Hainburg an der Donau, Haslau-Maria Ellend, Höflein, Petronell-Carnuntum, Rohrau, Scharndorf, Trautmannsdorf an der Leitha

Aderklaa, Andlersdorf, Deutsch-Wagram, Eckartsau, Engelhartstetten, Gänserndorf, Glinzendorf, Groß-Enzersdorf, Großhofen, Haringsee, Lassee, Leopoldsdorf im Marchfelde, Mannsdorf an der Donau, Marchegg, Markgrafneusiedl, Obersiebenbrunn, Orth an der Donau, Parbasdorf, Raasdorf, Strasshof an der Nordbahn, Untersiebenbrunn, Weiden an der March, Weikendorf

Bisamberg, Ernstbrunn, Großmugl, Hagenbrunn, Hausleiten, Korneuburg, Langenzersdorf, Sierndorf

Achau, Biedermannsdorf, Brunn am Gebirge, Guntramsdorf, Hennersdorf, Laxenburg, Münchendorf, Vösendorf, Wiener Neudorf

Wien Umgebung:
Fischamend, Gerasdorf bei Wien, Himberg, Schwechat, Ebergassing, Klein-Neusiedl, Klosterneuburg, Lanzendorf